Since kindergarten, it is a student’s hope and dream to walk across the stage at graduation, hear their name called with their graduating class and move their tassel from right to left. ). Constitutional challenges to community service programs may be divided Is mandatory volunteering an oxymoron? A long-time consultant in the in the nonprofit sector, in 2006 Graff wrote Volunteering and Mandatory Community Service, for Volunteer Canada, to define the phenomenon. Some Oxymorons are not obvious, some may require an understanding of verbal or regional interpretations, and some may even indicate certain prejudices. Im currently studying for my MCAT and while I received sage advice from a current med school student telling me not to give so much power to the MCAT, I cant help but be terrified by it at certain times and imagine the worst happening, getting a low score. Oxymoronic, isn’t it? I think it should be mandatory it will keep the teens from going astray on drink and them illegal drugs. Some of our best volunteers for ESL came from her classes and they were faithful volunteers until they had to go on to college. The adjective for this word is oxymoronic and the adverb oxymoronically. Note, this is NOT nursing-related volunteering, we dont wear our clinical scrubs or anything to identify us as students, etc. September 19, 2013 edition of the Okanogan Valley Gazette-Tribune Yes. I have good and bad experiences with mandatory volunteers in our Adult Education classes. There were high school students who were so busy with other activities that they did not stay connected.

I have always been a big fan of the oxymoronic term “mandatory volunteer work.” (How can it be volunteer work if it’s mandatory?)