Years ago, when I was a fashion editor, I’d see Bill on a regular basis, camera strung around his neck as he pedaled his bike through Manhattan traffic. I’m reminded of the loss of Bill Cunningham every Sunday when I read the Style section of the New York Times; I miss his dogged investigation of fashion on the streets of New York.

Bill Cunningham is probably the most honest photojournalist in New York. See more ideas about Bill cunningham, Bill cunningham … Not one,…but two documentaries on his life!
For Camera includes Beach Birds for Camera (1992), made in collaboration with director and filmmaker Elliot Caplan; and Locale (1980) and Channels/Inserts (1982), made with the artist Charles Atlas.

But he can also be pretty deceptive. Rather, in his pursuit of a singular, joyful mission — documenting daily the interesting clothes that women and men can and (this is important) do wear — Mr. Cunningham makes it all look easy.

He subsequently studied at Mills College (1938) with dancer and choreographer Lester Horton and at Bennington College (1939), where he was invited by Martha Graham to join her group.

After high school he attended the Cornish School of Fine and Applied Arts in Seattle, Washington, for two years. Bill Cunningham Special – Nikon FM2 with 35mm f/2 Nikkor lens Two Documentaries. May 4, 2017 - Explore paulahanson's board "BILL CUNNINGHAM AND HIS CAMERA", followed by 898 people on Pinterest. Atlas is a filmmaker and video artist who has worked across film, dance, and performance for decades, and was a lighting designer at the Merce Cunningham Dance Company. Most photographers, (who tend to be very private and technical), would be happy to just be “considered” for one. Cunningham began to study dance at 12 years of age. Bill Cunningham 5/11/20 May 11, 2020 • 64 min Restaurants are on the verge of opening...we have an update from Britney Ruby Miller; Willie with the latest on opening up and the Coronavirus. Not that he tries to be.